WLSSD Board Approves 2018 Budgets



WLSSD Board Approves 2018 Budgets

DULUTH, MN: Western Lake Superior Sanitary District (WLSSD) Board of Directors approved its 2018 operating and capital budgets at its Board meeting last night. The Board approved a 0% increase in solid waste management fees and a 1.94% average increase in wastewater rates. The budget for the regional wastewater system includes significant capital investments in the wastewater treatment process, most notably a $15.6 million replacement of the oxygen production facility with energy-efficient, state-of-the-art technology.


“We’re pleased that WLSSD is able to continue to keep cost increases low while successfully meeting our safety, environmental, operational and financial obligations,” said WLSSD executive director Marianne Bohren. “The replacement of our 40-year-old oxygen production facility with an energy efficient system will reduce our costs for customers, allow us to align energy-intensive oxygen production with varying loadings, and reduce our overall consumption of purchased electricity.” High-purity oxygen is a critical component in WLSSD’s wastewater treatment process.


The WLSSD Board of Directors also approved a 0% increase in solid waste management fees collected to support solid waste programs and services like WLSSD’s Materials Recovery Center, Household Hazardous Waste Facility, Yard Waste Compost Site, and reuse, recycling and education programs. “Continued attention to quality, service and cost has allowed us to grow our solid waste facilities and services over time without further increase in our solid waste management fees. This will continue in 2018,” continued Bohren.


Western Lake Superior Sanitary District provides award-winning wastewater and solid waste services within a 530 square mile service area and is a nationally recognized leader in pollution prevention. Governed by a nine-member citizen board, WLSSD is a special purpose subdivision of the State of Minnesota. Its legislative boundaries include the cities of Duluth, Cloquet, Carlton, Scanlon, Wrenshall, Hermantown, Proctor, Rice Lake and Thomson; and the rural townships of Silverbrook, Thomson, Twin Lakes, Canosia, Duluth, Grand Lake, Lakewood, Midway and Solway.