WLSSD Board of Directors Elects 2013-2014 Officers

DULUTH, MN-The Board of Directors of the Western Lake Superior Sanitary District has elected its new slate of officers for 2013-2014.

Board Chair – Al Katz, City of Duluth representative

Vice-Chair – Guy Unertl, Cloquet representative

Secretary – Ruth Janke, Carlton County representative

Treasurer – Jim Aird, St. Louis County representative

WLSSD is governed by a nine-member citizen board.  Four members are appointed by the City of Duluth, three by the City of Cloquet, one is elected by the Carlton County cities and townships within the WLSSD and one elected by the St. Louis County cities and townships.  The Board of Directors is responsible for oversight of WLSSD and advancement of the WLSSD mission to protect and improve the waters of the lower St. Louis River basin. The Board elects its officers annually.

Western Lake Superior Sanitary District provides award-winning wastewater and solid waste services to residents, businesses and industries within its 525 square mile legislative boundaries in Southern St. Louis and northern Carlton counties, and is a nationally recognized leader in pollution prevention.