Current WLSSD Board Members

WLSSD is governed by a nine-member citizen board.  Four members are appointed by the City of Duluth, three by the City of Cloquet, one is elected by Carlton County cities and townships in the WLSSD service area, and one is elected by St. Louis County cities and townships in the service area.

Board Chair,
Governance Committee Chair:

Paul Thomsen, Duluth

Board Vice Chair:

Marcia Podratz

Marcia Podratz, Duluth

Board Secretary:

Laura Ness, Duluth

Board Treasurer
Finance Committee Chair, Planning/Solid Waste Committee Chair:

Julene Boe, Duluth

Legislative Committee Chair:

Archie Chelseth WLSSD

Archie Chelseth, Cloquet

Operations and Personnel Committee Chair:

David Manderfeld, Cloquet


Jim Aird, St. Louis County


Loren Lilly, Cloquet


Janke color

Ruth Janke, Carlton County

Board Member Mailing Address:

Member Name

Western Lake Superior Sanitary District

2626 Courtland Street

Duluth, MN 55806